The Wrestler vs. The Dark Knight

7 comments

13 comments

I can't believe how many HARD choices there are to make!!!

Tough call for me...gotta go with the Oscar winner.

the dark knight was definitely more entertaining... b

Both are wonderful movies and I've watched both countless times. I'm a fan of pro wrestling and in all other match ups The wrestler would have been a sure pick but The Dark Knight is the right choice.

Love both. But one is better.

Oh my God... most EPIC showdown so far... the two best of 08... Someone said go with the Oscar winner, so I assume you mean Dark Knight, even though the award was a sham. Don't get me wrong, great performance, but if he wouldn't have died, don't think he would have been a lock. Rourke, on the other hand, deserved that trophy so much more. Think that's what I'm going to have to go with.

The Wrestler for me. TDK is way overrated.

The 21st Century Rocky.... a.k.a The Wrestler

To suggest that Heath Ledger won by virtue of dying is insulting to his memory and to the performance he put on in The Dark Knight. The buzz began before The Dark Knight even wrapped up filming. If anything, the worry was that his death would prevent him from winning a deserved Oscar, given the track record of actors nominated posthumously. He more than deserved that Oscar. That said, Mickey Rourke was, I believe, robbed of an Oscar himself for his performance in The Wrestler. Yet, while I consider Heath Ledger's Joker to be not only one of the best villains in the history of cinema, but one of the best performances, I cannot say the same about The Wrestler. Besides, The Dark Knight is infinitely more fun, despite how much I love The Wrestler.